Asking a Makeup Artist to give you a discount, because you own makeup, is like asking a Surgeon for a price cut because you have your own Bandaids.


When one visits their doctor, they either face co-pays or pay out of pocket for the price of the office visit and additional tests. I happily pay my doctor for her services because I know she’s gone through a lot of schooling to become an expert in her field. Because I appreciate her judgment, and despite owning an array of medical supplies for work and home use, I trust that the products and implements she uses to treat me are of high quality and are of select purpose.

The same is true of Professional Makeup Artists.

As a professional, I purchase products with my clients’ best interest in mind. I consider quality, effect, purpose, and cost. In this way, I maintain high standards for makeup, lash, waxing, and tinting clients. Professional means professional products.

But, what about when clients also have access to “professional” makeup lines such as Urban Decay, Too Faced, or MAC? If clients bring their own products to makeup appointments, shouldn’t they get a discount?

No.

Yes, a Makeup Artist’s kit does factor into his or her overhead. However, they more specifically charge for their skilled service.

In essence, asking a Makeup Artist to give you a discount, because you own makeup, is like asking a surgeon for a price cut because you have your own Bandaids.

Leave a Reply

