Beauty Runs in the Bloodline.


I was obsessed with lavender, peel-off nail polish as a child. I willed the lacquer dry so that I could “jazz hands” my way around the house– and do my nails again. As an adult, I probably paint my nails 2-3 times/wk. To me, there’s something therapeutic in dragging glossy pigment across my nail bed.

Apparently, this is a familial trait. My second cousin, Baby Lyla, challenges my status as “Girliest Girl” in the family. I’m not passing the torch yet, but I try to be a good example to my younger family by impressing on them what’s most important in life– at least in relation to boys & beauty.

When I really care for someone, I beg, “Please don’t over pluck your eyebrows! Let a professional [such as myself] do them for you.”

Lyla’s eyebrows  still qualify as “baby brow fuzz,” so that advice can be postponed until a later date. However, the simplest advice I can offer a little girl with wet nails–or a woman of any age– is, “Keep your fingers out straight, sit still, and don’t touch anything.” I looked her in the eye and repeated, “Lyla, don’t touch anything until your nails dry.”

Her mommy (my delightful cousin, Jane) invoked the genius “kitten claws method” to while away the time. Somehow, a toddler, who wouldn’t move up to her big girl bed for four more days, managed to relax and let her nails dry. I thought about all the times I’d fudged a manicure or a pedicure due to impatience. A child understood the bain of the nail tech’s existence…she listened and her nails looked fabulous for it!

P.S. Her favorite color is purple– can you tell?

6 thoughts on “Beauty Runs in the Bloodline.

  1. Regarding eyebrows – I wish I hadn’t plucked mine…At all! I definitely over-plucked. I wrote a post completely based around eyebrows for this purpose 🙂

Leave a Reply

