Let’s Talk Robberies: Cars, Designer Bags & Missing Makeup/ Lash Kits.


Recently, upon completing an especially sweaty cardio routine, I left the gym to find my driver’s side window smashed. I watch television, and believed the cops might want to dust for fingerprints, so I refrained from touching the vehicle or tampering with the evidence/surfaces. The notion proved founded when the police arrived fifteen minutes later; they dusted for fingerprints–their boots crackled amongst the shattered glass.

I’ll skip the long montage of bursting into tears in front of my gym friend, hysterically requesting my Zumba teacher to dial 911, and the harsh realization that my main makeup & lash kit was stolen (worth over $1,000.00). As a small [mobile] business owner, I was devastated.

Also disillusioned and crushed was my inner-fashionista. My brand new, patent leather Coach tote was stolen and an array of assorted contents: my wallet along with everything you need when you’re leaving on a road trip within five hours. That was a double personal slam with all professional aspects aside; I was forced to postpone a trip to see my Mother and family and the precious bag my best friend purchased to commemorate my college graduation was gone for good.

The point of this post isn’t really a boo-boo session for Ms. Ashley Evelyn, although I’m starting to question the validity of this statement the more I re-read the last paragraph. Accidents like this really do come out of nowhere–and no countdown- to- vacation high can prevent such occurrences.

You can prevent this, or at least lower your risk, by learning from my blunders. Below is a mis-matched list containing afterthoughts & investigator tips.

Here are some things that I have learned:

-The “Towel Covering Technique” no longer works. In fact, tossing a towel over anything in your car probably automatically signals a green light to thieves.

-Always remove your purses, computer bags, wallets, and valuable items from the car. Not even once. I directly ignored my instinct and kicked myself repeatedly later.

-If you can’t take things with you, all important items belong in the trunk. Then again, maybe they belong in the garage? The house? Then again, what if the house is broken in to? Whatever. The thieves didn’t steal my treatment bed, resting in the trunk, but they took what they could see and steal quickly.

-If someone makes off with you credit cards, ID’s, and/or check book, it’s not enough to simply close accounts and reissue them under a new account number. Individuals looking to steal your identity are merely detained by switching accounts because all the information they need remains in the bank’s files. It sucks, but changing banks is the best way to keep your assets safe.

-Lake Mary PD is incredibly helpful, kind, and competent.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Robberies: Cars, Designer Bags & Missing Makeup/ Lash Kits.

  1. Sucky; however, good tips. And this line “hysterically requesting my Zumba teacher to dial 911” for some reason made me lol. I think I’m imagining Olivia Newton-John as your Zumba teacher, so that may have something to do with it…

Leave a Reply

